Sunday, May 28, 2023
HomeentertainmentByron Allen Unveils Inaugural TheGrio Awards, Honoring Tyler Perry, Dave Chappelle, Jennifer...

Byron Allen Unveils Inaugural TheGrio Awards, Honoring Tyler Perry, Dave Chappelle, Jennifer Hudson and More

Byron Allen ‘s Allen Media Group announced Monday the launch of a new awards ceremony , the Grid Rio Awards, where winners will include Tyler Perry, Dave Chappelle and Jennifer Hudson.

TheGrio Awards recognizes awards from film, music, comedy, television, sports, charity, business, fashion, Outstanding figures in social justice, environmental justice, and education, and cultural icons and innovators “whose many contributions have positively impacted America.”

The awards ceremony will be hosted by Sheryl Underwood and Taye Diggs and will take place in October 22 at The Beverly Hilton Hotel and will air on TV and digital platforms across the country on November 5, as well as on the Glio TV Network and other Allen Media Group television and digital platforms. Allen Media Group has acquired theGrio, an African-American-focused news, lifestyle, sports and entertainment platform, in .

Perry will receive the ICON Award at the event, while Chappelle will receive the Cultural Icon Award and Hudson will receive the Trailblazer Icon Award.

Other winners at the awards ceremony will include Norman Lear (Champion Award), Patti LaBelle (Music Icon Award), Kenan Thompson (Comedy Icon Award), Ben Crump (Justice Icon Award), Alena · Anna Legg McQuarte (Youth Icon Award), Robert F. Smith (Philanthropy Award), Allyson Felix (Sport Icon Award), Don Peebles (Business Icon Award) and Queen Latifah (TV Icon Award). All winners should receive their prizes in person.

” said Allen, founder, chairman and CEO of Allen Media Group. “As a child, strong, positive African-American icons like Berry Jr. Gordy, Rosa Parks, Muhammad Ali and Martin Luther King Jr. helped me see myself differently and changed the trajectory of my life. Celebrating and amplifying iconic figures is something we can never do, especially for our children. ”

LaBelle will also be performing at the event, as will Yolanda Adams, Tyrese and Fantasia. Greg Phillinganes will be the music director and DJ Kiss will be DJing and broadcasting

Allen Media Group and Backhand Productions co-produce the Glio Awards. Allen serves as executive producer alongside Carolyn Folks, Jennifer Lucas, Jeff Atlas and Michelle Willrich .



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Featured NEWS