Thursday, February 22, 2024
HomeentertainmentMovie NewsDorian Film Awards: ‘All of Us Strangers’ Tops Nominations

Dorian Film Awards: ‘All of Us Strangers’ Tops Nominations

GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics announced the nominees of the 15th Dorian Film Awards, and Searchlight’s All of Us Strangers leads the nominations with nine.

The Andrew Haigh-written and -directed drama earned nods for film of the year, LGBTQ film of the year and genre film of the year, with Haigh also landing nods for best director and best screenplay. Andrew Scott was nominated for his lead performance, while Claire Foy and Paul Mescal are both nominated in best supporting performance. (The Dorians’ acting categories are gender neutral, with 10 contenders in both categories.)

Following in All of Us Strangers‘ lead is Warner Bros.’ Barbie, which scored seven noms, including film of the year, best director for Greta Gerwig (also nominated for writing the screenplay with partner Noah Baumbach), best supporting performance (Ryan Gosling) and best film music.

The three remaining film of the year nominees are Netflix’s May December, A24’s Past Lives and Searchlight’s Poor Things. Nominated alongside All of Us Strangers for LGBTQ film of the year are Amazon MGM Studios’ Bottoms, MUBI’s Passages, Netflix’s Rustin and Amazon MGM Studios’ Saltburn.

Many Oscar nominees landed Dorian nods for their performances: Rustin‘s Colman Domingo, Killers of the Flower Moon‘s Lily Gladstone, Poor Things‘ Emma Stone, The Color Purple‘s Danielle Brooks, Anatomy of a Fall‘s Sandra Hüller, Nyad‘s Jodie Foster, Oppenheimer‘s Cillian Murphy and Robert Downey Jr. and The Holdovers‘ Paul Giamatti and Da’Vine Joy Randolph. Other acting nominees include performances passed over by the Academy, including Monica‘s Trace Lysette, Past Lives‘ Greta Lee, Saltburn‘s Rosamund Pike and May December‘s Charles Melton and Natalie Portman.

GALECA added three new categories to the Dorians lineup this year: LGBTQ screenplay of the year, LGBTQ non-English language film of the year and genre film of the year.

GALECA will announce the winners of the 15th Dorian Film Awards on Monday, Feb. 26.

The full list of nominations follows.

Film of the Year
All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Barbie (Warner Bros.)
May December (Netflix) 
Past Lives (A24) 
Poor Things (Searchlight)

LGBTQ Film of the Year
All of Us Strangers (Searchlight) 
Bottoms (MGM)
Passages (MUBI, SBS)
Rustin (Netflix)
Saltburn (Amazon MGM) 

Director of the Year
Greta Gerwig, Barbie (Warner Bros.)
Andrew Haigh, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Todd Haynes, May December (Netflix)
Christopher Nolan, Oppenheimer (Universal)
Celine Song, Past Lives (A24)

Screenplay of the Year
Noah Baumbach and Greta Gerwig, Barbie (Warner Bros.)
Samy Burch, May December (Netflix)
Andrew Haigh, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Arthur Harari and Justine Triet, Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
Celine Song, Past Lives (A24) 

LGBTQ Screenplay of the Year 
Andrew Haigh, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Arthur Harari and Justine Triet, Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
Dustin Lance Blackand Julian Breece, Rustin (Netflix)
Arlette Langmann, Ira Sachs and Mauricio Zacharias, Passages (MUBI)
Emma Seligman and Rachel Sennott, Bottoms (MGM)

Non-English Language Film of the Year
Anatomy of a Fall (NEON) 
The Boy and the Heron (GKIDS, Toho)
Godzilla Minus One (Toho)
Past Lives (A24)
The Zone of Interest (A24)

LGBTQ Non-English Language Film of the Year
Afire (Janus Films, Sideshow)
Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
Cassandro (Amazon MGM)
Monster (Well Go USA, Gaga, Toho)
Rotting in the Sun (MUBI)

Unsung Film of the Year
To an exceptional movie worthy of greater attention
Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret (Lionsgate)
Monica (IFC)
Origin (NEON)
Theater Camp (Searchlight)
A Thousand and One (Focus Features)

Film Performance of the Year
Colman Domingo, Rustin (Netflix)
Paul Giamatti, The Holdovers (Focus Features)
Lily Gladstone, Killers of the Flower Moon (Apple)
Sandra Hüller, Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
Greta Lee, Past Lives (A24)
Trace Lysette, Monica (IFC)
Cillian Murphy, Oppenheimer (Universal)
Natalie Portman, May December (Netflix)
Andrew Scott, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Emma Stone, Poor Things (Searchlight)

Supporting Film Performance of the Year
Danielle Brooks, The Color Purple (Warner Bros.)
Robert Downey Jr., Oppenheimer (Universal)
Jodie Foster, Nyad (Netflix)
Claire Foy, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Ryan Gosling, Barbie (Warner Bros.) 
Rachel McAdams, Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret (Lionsgate)
Charles Melton, May December (Netflix)
Paul Mescal, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Rosamund Pike, Saltburn (Amazon MGM)
Da’Vine Joy Randolph, The Holdovers (Focus Features)

Documentary of the Year
American Symphony (Netflix)
Beyond Utopia (Roadside Attractions, Fathom Events)
Kokomo City (Magnolia)
Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie (Apple TV+)
20 Days in Mariupol (PBS Distribution)

LGBTQ Documentary of the Year
Every Body (Focus Features) 
Going to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Project (HBO, Confluential Films)
Kokomo City (Magnolia)
Little Richard: I Am Everything (Magnolia)
Orlando, My Political Biography (Janus Film, Sideshow)

Animated Film of the Year
The Boy and the Heron (GKIDS, Toho)
Elemental (Disney)
Nimona (Netflix, Annapurna)
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse (Sony)
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutant Mayhem (Paramount)

Genre Film of the Year 
For excellence in science fiction, fantasy and horror
All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Godzilla Minus One (Toho)
M3GAN (Universal)
Poor Things (Searchlight)
Talk To Me (A24)

Film Music of the Year
Barbie — Mark Ronson, Andrew Wyatt, et al. (Warner Bros.)
The Boy and the Heron — Joe Hisaishi (GKIDS, Toho)
The Color Purple — Stephen Bray, Allee Willis, Brenda Russell, Kris Bowers, et al. (Warner Bros.)
Oppenheimer — Ludwig Göransson (Universal) 
The Zone of Interest — Mica Levi (A24)

Visually Striking Film of the Year
Asteroid City (Focus Features)
Barbie (Warner Bros.)
Oppenheimer (Universal)
Poor Things (Searchlight)
Spider-Man: Across The Spider-Verse (Sony)

Campiest Flick
Barbie (Warner Bros.)
Bottoms (MGM)
Dicks: The Musical (A24)
M3GAN (Universal) 
Saltburn (Amazon MGM)

“We’re Wilde About You!” Rising Star Award
Ayo Edebiri
Lily Gladstone
Jacob Elordi
Charles Melton
Dominic Sessa

Wilde Artist Award
To a truly groundbreaking force in entertainment
Quinta Brunson
Ayo Edebiri
Greta Gerwig
Lily Gladstone
Todd Haynes

GALECA LGBTQIA+ Film Trailblazer Award 
For creating art that inspires empathy, truth and equity
Colman Domingo
Jodie Foster
Andrew Haigh
Todd Haynes
Andrew Scott



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Featured NEWS