Sunday, June 4, 2023
HomeUncategorizedIAFP awards awards at 2022 Annual Meeting

IAFP awards awards at 2022 Annual Meeting

PITTSBURGH, PA — Last night, the International Association for Food Protection (IAFP) announced the winners at its annual conference awards dinner.

The IAFP presented the Food Safety Council with awards for excellence in food safety to the following organizations and individuals.

IAFP Fellow Award

IAFP Fellow Award Awarded to professionals who have long made outstanding contributions to the IAFP and its affiliates.

This year’s recipients are David Blomquist, DFB Consulting, Hastings, MN; James Dixon, Iowa State University; Lynn McMullen, University of Alberta, Edmond, CA Dayton; George-John Nychas, Agricultural University of Athens, Greece; and Manan Sharma, USDA, Beltsville, MD.

Presidential Lifetime Achievement Award

Katherine MJ Swanson, KMJ Swanson Food Safety Inc. (retired) , Mendota Heights, Minnesota, awarded the Presidential Lifetime Achievement Award. Awarded at the discretion of the IAFP President, this award recognizes individuals who have made a lasting impact on Advancing Food Safety Worldwide® through a lifetime of professional achievement

Honorary Life Membership Award

Honorary Life Membership Award to Zeb Blanton, SGS North America, resident in Longwood, FL; Leon Gorris , Food Safety Futures, Nijmegen, The Netherlands; Dale Grinstead, Diversey (retired) , Highlands, NC; Paul Hall, AIV Microbiology and Food Safety Consultants, Lakeland, FL; Elliot Ryser, Michigan State University, East Lansing; and Edith Wilkin, Laprino Foods (retired) , lives in Castle Rock, Colorado. The award recognizes IAFP members’ dedication to IAFP’s lofty ideals and goals and their service to the association.

Harry Haverland Citation Award

Harry Haverland The Citation Award was awarded to Francisco Diez-Gonzalez of the University of Georgia, Griffin, for his years of dedication to the ideals and goals of the Association.

Sponsored by Eurofins

Food Safety Innovation Award

BioMérieux of Hazelwood, Missouri receives Food Safety Innovation Award for developing predictive diagnostics, for its innovative new method of food safety and quality testing.

Sponsored by Walmart

International Leadership Award

International Leadership Award presented to Arie Havelaar nesville, University of Florida, Guy, for his dedication to IAFP’s lofty ideals and goals, and for promoting the association’s presence outside of the United States and Canada duty of.

Sponsored by Food Safety Net Services

Food Safety Award

Ann Marie, Hoffman Estates, American food company McNamara received the Food Safety Award for Outstanding Contributions Over Time

by the Consumer Brands Association (CBA)

Sponsored Frozen Foods Foundation Research Award

Frozen Foods Foundation Frozen Research Award to Guell, Ontario, Canada Jeff Farber of Harvard University. The award recognizes an individual, group or organization for excellence and outstanding contribution to research affecting the safety attributes of frozen foods.

Sponsored by the Frozen Food Foundation

Morris Webb Lab Award

The Maurice Webb Lab Award is presented to Kali Kniel, University of Delaware-Newark, in recognition of her outstanding contributions to the laboratory , and for her commitment to developing innovative and practical analytical methods to support food safety.

Sponsored by the Fred and Elizabeth Webb Trust

Larry Beuchat Young Investigator Award

Yaohua Feng of Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana, received the Larry Beuchat Young Investigator Award. The award is given to young researchers who demonstrate outstanding ability and professional prospects early in their careers.

Sponsored by bioMérieux

James M. Jay Food Safety Diversity Award

The James M. Jay Food Safety Diversity Award was awarded to Haley Oliver of Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana. The award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to advancing equity, diversity and inclusion in food safety.

Sponsored by 3M Food Safety Corporation

Ewen CD Todd Control of Foodborne Illness Award

Northeastern University Darin Detwiler, who lives in Los Angeles, California, is the recipient of the Ewen CD Todd Control of Foodborne Illness Award. This award recognizes individuals who have made dedication and outstanding contributions to reducing the risk of foodborne illness.

Sponsored by Marler Clark

Hygiene Award

Charles Giambrone of Rochester-Midland, New Hope, PA, receives the Hygiene Award for his dedication and service excellence to the health care industry , serving the public and the food industry.

Sponsored by Ecolab Inc.

Elmer Marth Educator Award

Elmer Marth Educator Award to Lawrence Goodrich, University of Guelph, Ontario, CA for his dedication to the profession of educator Spirit and outstanding contribution.

Sponsored by Nelson-Jameson, Inc.

Ha Rod Barnum Award for Industry

Yvonne Chan Masters, John B. Sanfilippo & Son, Inc., Elgin, IL, is Harold Barnum Winner of the Industry Award. The award recognizes her outstanding service to the IAFP, the public and the food industry.

Sponsored by MERCK Animal Health

Black Pearl Award

IAFP selects HelloFresh as the prestigious 2022 Recipient of the Black Pearl Award.

This honor is awarded annually to a company in recognition of its efforts to promote food safety and quality through consumer programs, employee relations, educational activities, adherence to standards, and support of the goals and objectives of the IAFP .

Sponsored by F&H Food Equipment Corporation

to the new President Greetings

Ruth Petland introduces incoming chair Michelle Danyluk holding the IAFP’s gavel. Photo by Jonan Pillette

Association members saw their organization’s presidential gavel change hands again at the annual awards dinner on the last night of the conference.

Michelle Danyluk, the new president of the University of Florida, received a gift from Dr. Ruth Petran, the outgoing president of the Acheson Group and Ruth Petran Consulting, LLC.

(Sign up for a free subscription to Food Safety News, Click here)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Featured NEWS