Tuesday, May 30, 2023
HomeentertainmentMovie NewsMandy Walker becomes first woman to win American Society of Cinematographers feature...

Mandy Walker becomes first woman to win American Society of Cinematographers feature film competition

Elvis Presley Cinematographer Mandy Walker shattered the glass ceiling on Sunday, becoming the first woman to win an American Society of Cinematographers award in the feature film competition th ASC Awards.

The crowd at the Beverly Hilton’s International Ballroom broke into applause and a standing ovation when Walker’s name was called.

“It’s for all the women who have won this award after me,” she said to rapturous applause, expecting more women to break more glass ceilings. “Thijs is an inclusive, representative community,” she said, adding, “I didn’t cry, I thought I was going to cry.”

She thanked Elvis director Baz Luhrmann for asking her to “create magic with him”; Catherine Martin, for her “support and inspiration; and her crew during Austin Butler’s Elvis Presley” Dance with the camera, fly with the camera”.

Walker tops Elvis including ASC International award winner Darius Khondji Bardo,False Chronicle of a Handful of Truths; Roger DeakinsEmpire of Light ); Greg Fraser Batman ; and Claudio Miranda Top Gun: Maverick .

Walker is the third woman to be nominated in the ASC Feature Film Competition, and the third woman ever to be nominated for an Oscar. Rachel Morrison Nominated for 37 two awards for Mudbound, followed by two nominations Ari Wegner in 2018 for The Power of the Dog.

With her ASC award, Walker is one step closer to becoming the first woman to win an Academy Award. She is joined by Deakins, Khondji, All Quiet On the Western Front DP James Friend and Tar DP Florian Hoffmeister have been nominated for an Oscar together for the past seven years 10, the winner of the ASC Feature Film Competition went on to win an Academy Award for Cinematography.

Iranian-French cinematographer Khondji – whose work also Including The Immigrant, Evita and Se7en – won ASC International Award

Stephen Goldblatt also received special Among other honors, he received the Lifetime Achievement Award; Viola Davis, the Council Award; the President’s Award, Charlie Lieberman; Fred Murphy, the Television Career Achievement Award; and Sam Nicholson, the Curtis Clarke Technical Achievement Award.

The winners are listed below.

Feature Film Nominations

Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for Empire of Light (Searchlight Pictures)Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS for The Batman (Warner Bros.)Darius Khondji, ASC, AFC for Bardo, False Chronicle of a Handful of Truths (Netflix)

Claudio Miranda, ASC for Top Gun: Maverick (Paramount Pictures)
Mandy Walker, ASC, ACS for Elvis (Warner Bros.)(WINNER)


Sturla Brandth Grøvlen, DFF for War Sailor (DCM Film ) (WINNER )
Kate McCullough, ISC for Quiet Girl(Super)
Andrew Wheeler for God’s Country (IFC Films)

One Hour Non-Commercial Episode TV Series]

John Conroy, ASC, ISC for Westworld – “Années Folles” (HBO/HBO MAX)
Catherin e Goldschmidt for House of the Dragon – “Lord of Tides” (HBO/HBO MAX)
Alejandro Martinez for House of the Dragon – “Green Council” (HBO/HBO MAX)

M . David Mullen, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – “How do you get Carnegie Hall? ” (Prime Video)(WINNER) Alex Nepomniaschy, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – “Everything is Bellmore” (Prime Video)Nikolaus Summerer 37 – “The Call” (Netflix)

Pilot, Limited Series or TV Movie

Todd Banhazl, ASC for Winning When: The Rise of the Lakers Dynasty – The Swan (HBO/HBO Max)
Jeremy Benning , CSC for Guillermo del Toro’s Cabinet of Curiosities – “The Outside” (Netflix) Anastas Michos, ASC, GSC for Guillermo del Toro’s Cabinet of Curiosities – “Autopsy” (Netflix) C. Kim Miles, ASC, CSC, MySC for Lost Ollie – “Bali Hai” (Netflix)Sean Porter for The Old Man – “I” (FX) (WINNER)

Half-hour series

Adam Bricker for Hacks – “The Click” (HBO/HBO MAX)C arl Herse for Barry – “Now On” (HB0/HBO MAX) (WINNER) Stephen Murphy BSC, ISC for Atlanta – “New Jazz” (FX)
Ula Pontikos, BSC for Russian Doll – “Matryoshka” (Netflix)
Christian Sprenger, ASC for Atlanta – “Andrew Wyeth. Alfred’s world. ” (FX)

One-hour commercial television series

Marshall Adams, ASC For Better Call Saul – “Saul Gone” (AMC)Jesse M. Feldman for Interview With the Vampire – “Is My Very Nature That of the Devil” (AMC) Christian “Tico” Herrera, CCR for Snowfall – “Departures” (FX)Jules O’Loughlin, ASC, ACS for The Old Man – “IV” (FX)(WINNER)2018
Jaime Reynoso, AMC for Snowpiercer – “Bound by One Track” (TNT)

Documentary Award

Ben Bernhard and Riju Das for All That Breathes (HBO/HBO Max) (WINNER)
Adam Bricker Chef’s Table: Pizza – “Franco Pepe” (Netflix)

Wolfgang Held, ASC for This Stolen Country of mine



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Featured NEWS