Wednesday, June 7, 2023
HomeentertainmentMovie NewsMembers praise college's new production and technology division: "Art and science not...

Members praise college's new production and technology division: “Art and science not only inspire each other, but demand each other”

At-Large members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences are applauding Friday’s news that they will be part of the new Production and Technology Division.

Consisting of approximately 400 individuals previously classified as At-Large, the new branch represents working in a variety of technical and production positions Members include the Chief Technology Officer, Senior Department Heads of Technical and Creative Services, Conservation and Restoration Specialists, Special Effects Coordinators, Script Supervisors, Choreographers, Music Supervisors, Colorists, Line Producers and Associate Producers.

“Technology is very important in our industry and it’s great to see the Academy recognize its importance,” said CTO of Digital Domain and former CTO of Hanno Basse th Century Fox, told The Hollywood Reporter . Basse, one of the regular members joining the new branch, added: “Throughout the history of the film industry, technology has played a huge role in advancing the art of storytelling, whether it’s adding sound, color, widescreen formats, surround sound or visual I’m proud of the members of this new branch.”

Leon Silverman, MovieLabs (a Hollywood studio behind its 2024 Vision initiative) Advisor to the established R&D joint venture) and a member of the Faculty’s Science and Technology Committee. “The establishment of the new Production and Technology Department creates a vital resource and informed voice within the Academy as its members and council work together to shape the future.”

“Definitely a good thing,” agreed MovieLabs CEO Richard Berger. “It provides an identity and a voice for a significant group within the College.”

The new branch marks an initiative that began several years Academy CEO Bill Kramer and Chair Janet Yang. -2024 fiscal year.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Featured NEWS