Wednesday, May 31, 2023
HomeentertainmentMovie NewsNAACP Image Awards: Will Smith, Viola Davis Winners (Updated Live)

NAACP Image Awards: Will Smith, Viola Davis Winners (Updated Live)

70 NAACP Images Awards Currently being presented at a live awards show hosted by Queen Latifah and aired on BET.

The host kicked off the show with a celebratory monologue, singing about the black men and women in the audience of “I’m Gonna Live To Die,” “Ladies First” and “About Damn Time.”

“It’s right. Live, live, live. It’s what we all have to do,” Latifa said after opening her musical. “Look at us. I see so many beautiful black queens and kings.”

She referred to the stars in attendance as examples of “drive, determination and success.”

Latifah also singled out black women for what she called “superheroes,” “characters we didn’t choose.”

“By the way, if no one tells you today, I love you,” Latifah told the audience.

She later yelled at black people, including Jonathan Majors.

Latifah joked that she wasn’t sure about Ant-Man and The Wasp: Quantumania and )Creed III stars at the awards and in “every movie” now in theaters. She also urged

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever writer-director Ryan Coogler to bow to the success of the Marvel franchise.

She called out trailblazing black political figures including House Minority Leader Hakeem Jeffries and Supreme Court Justice Ketanji Brown Jackson.

She also took a moment to acknowledge the “heartbreaking murders going on” of young black men and women, with a special mention of Tire Nichols as the screen behind her showed Names of known black people who were killed.

She encouraged the audience to continue loving each other, saying awards shows exist to love and celebrate each other.

After the first commercial, Latifah introduced special guest Brittney Griner, who walked out with his wife, Cherelle, to a standing ovation.

Early winners include Actors and Actresses in Drama by Nicco Annan (P-Valley

) and Angela Bassett (9-1-1), respectively. Earlier this week, Bassett earned

“When they say God is good, I know it is,” Annan said in his acceptance speech, adding that he was “grateful for being a part of creating The artist of this story. “

He also dedicated his award to “every 40-, -, 50-, 50 – There is no room for being your own child. ”

Abbott Elementary for best comedy series, star creator Quinta Brunson welcomes Awarded her co-star to join her on stage.

“We’re a whole new show. Watching all the other shows out there that paved the way for us at ABC like

Black-ish…we’re so grateful,” Brunson said in part. “We’re excited to make a show that everyone but us can watch. ”

Will Smith (Will Smith) won Best Actor in a Movie for his Best Actor in a Film Liberation , following last year’s After the high-profile slap in the face of Chris Rock at the Oscars, the actor received a rare honor. Smith, who has kept a relatively low profile since the incident and the ensuing backlash, was not in attendance NAACP Image Award , but the audience applauded him for winning. Host Janelle Monáe accepted the award on his behalf.

Also in the two-hour special In, Kerry Washington presented Serena Williams with the Jackie Robinson Sports Award; Leon W. Russell presented Bennie Thompson with the Chairman’s Award; and Tracee Ellis Ross presented Crump with the Social Justice Impact Award.

Crump delivered a fiery speech that brought the crowd to their feet, people cheering and raising their fists.

On behalf of George Floyd ), Ahmaud Arbery and Tire Nichols, among others, have vowed to continue “fighting the legalized genocide of people of color.” He also pledged to bring the fight to the classroom.

“We are prepared to fight for black history in and out of the classroom,” Crump said. “We must stand up for the future of our children out. We must fight for the future of our children. If we don’t…we can’t count on other people…[We must] be ready to fight for our children’s future until hell falls. Then we have to be ready to fight on the ice. ”

Live show hosts include Brian White, Method Man, Damson Idris, Taye Diggs, Harold Perrineau, Issa Rae, Monáe, Janelle James, Majors, Washington, Letitia Wright, Morris Chestnut, Ms. Pat, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Terrence Howard, Ellis Ross and Zendaya.

NAACP will also honor Gabrielle Union-Wade and Dwyane Wade receives the President’s Award.

The most nominated project for this year’s NAACP Image Awards is

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever with Nod, The Woman King and Abbott Elementary School nine nods each, Black-ish seven nods and Till , From Scratch, P-Valley and Queen Sugar six nods each.

Saturday night’s telecast follows a week of off-TV rituals , during which honorees were recognized in multiple categories during these ceremonies.The first four evenings included virtual presentations each night: Beyoncé and Rihanna were Winners of Night 1; Jennifer Hudson, Trevor Noah and Viola Davis Winners of Night 2; Black Panther: Wakanda Forever, Quinta Brunson & Keco Palmer

was one of three honorees of the night; and Abbott Elementary School, Atlanta and are best typed Call Saul is the winner of night four. Outstanding make-up, hairstyling and costume design winners were revealed at a fashion show on Thursday. Friday night, more awards at Off-Camera Dinner and Black Panther: Wakanda Forever and Abbott Elementary were the top winners with three awards each.

As of Saturday, Black Panther: Wakanda Forever has won seven awards and Abbott Elementary won five prizes.

The list of nominations below will be updated as they are announced on-site. Refresh latest.

Artist of the Year

Angela Bassett

Mary ·Blatch

Quinta Brunson Viola Davis

Outstanding Film

Jazz and Blues (Netflix) Black Panther: Wakanda Forever( Marvel Studios)
Liberation( Apple TV)

Queen (Distributed by Sony Pictures )Till (United Artists Releasing/ Orion Pictures)

Outstanding Movie Actor

Daniel Kaluuya – Nope (Universal Pictures)
Jonathan Majors – Devotion (Sony Pictures Entertainment)
Joshua Boone – Jazz and Blues (Netflix)
Sterling K. Brown – Honk for Jesus. Save your soul (key function)

Will Smith – Liberation (Apple) (WINNER)

Outstanding Actress

Danielle Deadwyler – Till (United Artists Releasing/Orion Pictures)
Keke Palmer – Alice (Vertical Entertainment)
Letitia Wright – Black Panther: Wakanda Forever (Marvel Studios)
Regina Hall – Honk for Jesus.Save your soul (key function)

Viola Davis – Queen (Distributed by Sony Pictures) (WINNER)

Excellent Comedy Series

Abbott Primary School (ABC) (WINNER)
black-ish (ABC)

Rap Sh!t ( HBO Max)

Miraculous Years (ABC)

Outstanding Actor in Drama

Damson Idris – Snowfall (FX)

Jabari Banks – Bel-Air (Peacock)
Kofi Siriboe – Queen Sugar (OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network)

Nicco Annan – P-Valley (Starz) (WINNER)
Sterling K. Brown – This Is Us (NBC)

Outstanding Actress in a Drama Series

Angela Bassett – 9-1-1 (Fox) (winner) By)
Brandee Evans – P-Valley (Starz)
Queen Latifah – Equalizer (CBS)
Rutina Wesley – Sugar Queen (OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network)
Zendaya – Euphoria (HBO Max)





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Featured NEWS