Thursday, October 5, 2023
HomeentertainmentNiecy Nash-Betts, Quinta Brunson and 'P-Valley' Receive African American Film Critics Society...

Niecy Nash-Betts, Quinta Brunson and 'P-Valley' Receive African American Film Critics Society Television Honor Award

Nissi Nash -Bates, Quinta Brunson and P-Valley is one of the recipients of the African American Film Critics Society’s 5th Annual Television Honor Achievements in media and broadcasting.

Brunson at ABC’s
Abbott Elementary Recognized for writing on

, Nash-Bates in Netflix’s Dahmer — Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story and the work of actors J. Alphonse Nicholson and Nicco Annan on Starz’s P-Valley.

Additionally, Albert Elementary School was named Best Comedy Series, while Best Drama for P-Valley.

Winners also include Netflix’s Mo Best New Series and The Peacock Series “Best Man: The Final Chapter” for Best Limited Series.

In addition,
AAFCA previously announced plans to award special achievement honors to several recipients, These include EGOT winner Jennifer Hudson, who will receive a We See You Award; Famous for roles in films such as The Big Five , Get Shorty and Romeo Must Die, are honorable recipients of the Legacy Award; and actress Marla Gibbs, from Jefferson and , will be awarded the Legend Award. Apple TV+’s Ted Lasso will receive inclusion award and CBS’s SWAT will receive impact power award.

A private invitation-only luncheon will be held in person on August 24th at the Casa del Mar Hotel in Santa Monica. However, the group said it was monitoring the ongoing writers’ and actors’ strike and would adjust dates if needed.

Despite the ongoing strike, AAFCA co-founder and president Gil Robertson believes the honorees deserve recognition for their work.

“As the entertainment industry continues to change due to strikes, these incredible talents – from icons to breakthroughs – still deserve recognition for their contribution to the world of television Outstanding contribution,” Robertson said. “AAFCA is committed to celebrating all of our award recipients.”

The full list of award recipients follows.

Best TV Comedy
27 Abbott Elementary School )(ABC)

Best TV Series

Rookie of the Year 227Mo (Netflix)

Best Documentary
27The Project (Onyx Collective/Hulu)

Best man: final chapter (peacock)

most Best TV Movie

Breakthrough Star 227 Jessica Williams, Shrink (Apple TV+)

Best Band
227P-Valley (Starz)

Best TV Writer 227 Quinta Brunson, Abbott Elementary School (ABC)

Best Television Director
227 Mary Lou Bailey, Debbie Allen, Tasha Smith, Henry Chan, Jordan E. Cooper, The Ms. Pat Show (BET+)

BEST TV Show (Female)227Niecy Nash-Betts, Dahmer — Monsters: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story (Netflix)

Best TV Performance (Male)227 J. Alphonse Nicholson and Nico Annan, P-Valley (Starz)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Featured NEWS