Tuesday, February 27, 2024
HomeSportRussell Wilson ridiculed by NFL fans for trailing Genoa Smith in career...

Russell Wilson ridiculed by NFL fans for trailing Genoa Smith in career MVP votes

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON - SEPTEMBER 12: Geno Smith #7 of the Seattle Seahawks (L) and Russell Wilson #3 of the Denver Broncos shake hands before a game at Lumen Field on September 12, 2022 in Seattle, Washington. (Photo by Jane Gershovich/Getty Images)

Jane Gershovich/Getty Images

Wilson was again an easy target for fans after Russell had a big night against his Seattle Seahawks backup Gino Smith in the NFL Honors Game.

Smith has been a full-time starter since 2014 in his first year leading the Seahawks to the playoffs. Named NFL Comeback Player of the Year. He also received a fifth-place MVP vote.

As fans were quick to point out, that’s already more MVP votes than Wilson has in his career:

Nick Lee @NickLee51

Career MVP votes:
Geno Smith: 1
Russell Wilson: 0 https://t.co/39fWEDRYsT


Geno Smith (1) got more MVP votes in his 1 season starting with Seahawks than Russell Wilson (0) in 10 more votes in a season

He is undeniably who he ispic.twitter.com/x8EhZkdbVh Craig R @CFR624 Geno Smith gets the MVP vote ahead of Russell Wilson 😭😭 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭 https://t.co/ OhaV7ossbM

Justin@imjustinsanders Geno Smith gets the MVP vote ahead of Russell Wilson? I mean… pic.twitter.com/mZgjeK9uUF

Dave Marler @Softykjr

Geno Smith gets the MVP vote. In a related story, Russell Wilson still has the same MVP vote as me https://t.co/Nut0eSR9Q9

Brian Fisher@BryanDFischer Geno Smith technically gets the MVP vote ahead of Russell Wilson. https://t.co/OzAojB9bRn

Hustle Chillson @HustleChillson

Geno Smith gets the MVP vote ahead of Russell Wilson, what’s our timeline 😂 https://t.co/ RYgrBpNApf

Brandon Gustafson @TheBGustafson

The new voting format gives Geno Smith something that Russell Wilson didn’t have in his career: NFL MVP voting https://t.co/oBB1Ow8K04

Nathan Jahnke @PFF_NateJahnke Russell Still no MVP vote for Wilson Wilson has had a rough first year with the Denver Broncos, has no MVP votes this year and hasn’t gotten any votes in his 11 NFL seasons .

Of course, this is the first year of the new ballot format that allows voters to list five players on each ballot. In the past, voters could only list one name. Kansas City Chiefs star Patrick Mahomes received 48 of the 50 first-place votes to win this year’s MVP, with Jalen Hurts and Josh Allen the only two other first-place votes people.

As good as Smith has played this year, he would have been poorly voted under the previous format.

If voters can list up to five MVP spots, Wilson has certainly been recognized in the past. The nine-time Pro Bowler was named to the All-Pro Second Team in 2019, though Lamar Jackson was unanimously named that year’s MVP.

It’s an unfortunate turning point for Wilson, but after a disappointing 2022 campaign, it’s enough to keep the Fans continue to support.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Featured NEWS