Saturday, June 3, 2023
HomeentertainmentMovie NewsSpirit Award: Seven-time nominee 'Tár' wins cinematography only for 'Bones and All,'...

Spirit Award: Seven-time nominee 'Tár' wins cinematography only for 'Bones and All,' 'Check,' 'Severance Pay'

, Hasan Minhaj, hinting in his monologue that Cate Blanchett is this year Man to Beat*)awards.

But instead, Blanchett and her film

Tár(​​ came away almost empty-handed, winning only one of the seven awards for which it was nominated. Focus Films won best cinematography, but lost out in other nomination categories.

Tár(​​ is not the only one with more Spirit Award nominations failed to win due to

Everything Everywhere All at Once’s dominance Meaning all of the following films with multiple awards were also rejected: four nominations Palms and Powerlines and three nominations Bones and All , Timothée Chalamet De starring ; test ; and Murina .

woman talking also lost all the competing awards it was nominated for, three, and only accepted the previously announced Robert Altman Award, which still went to Sarah Polley for writing and directing In the spotlight for a while. Producer and actress Frances McDormand was also in attendance at the Spirit Awards and showed it off in some cutaway shots.

Five nominations fared slightly better

Aftersun , it won Best First Film, but sadly failed to win any other awards; The Cathedral, which won John Cassavetes Award, which lost two other nominations; and Criminal Emily , which won Best First Screenplay, but lost out on three other nominations. Paul Mescal of Aftersun and Emily the Criminal Aubrey Plaza got some face time at the live telecast of the ceremony.

In fact, John Barton Ford

criminal Emily ‘s victory was a bit of a surprise, as Filmstrip produced better-known films such as Fire Island and BODY BODY BODY .

On television, three nominations severance package and

The eleventh station was turned away.

Also, it’s a bit of a surprise that Ayo Edebiri won Best Supporting Performance in a new series as she beat out Abbott Elementary

stars Sheryl Lee Ralph and Janelle James, who have received equal awards at other ceremonies. But Edebiri’s victory may herald the dominance of The Bear as it won two of the three awards nominated , the most of any TV show. 1235340905



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Featured NEWS