Thursday, October 5, 2023
HomeentertainmentMovie NewsStellan Skarsgard Receives Locarno Lifetime Achievement Award

Stellan Skarsgard Receives Locarno Lifetime Achievement Award

Swedish legend Stellan Skarsgard ( Good Will Hunting , Mamma Mia! , Nymphomaniac) will be honored for lifetime achievement at this year’s Locarno Leopard Club Award International Film Festival.

Skarsgard will be awarded at the awards ceremony on August 4th in Locarno’s Grand Place and will take part in an audience Q&A on August 5th. In his honor, Locarno will screen the Good Evening Mr. Wallenberg (1990), Kjell Grede’s period drama in which Skarsgard plays Raoul Wallenberg, the Swedish diplomat who saved thousands of Hungarians in the final months of WWII Jewish. The festival will also screen Ran Huang’s crime drama “All That Remains” , co-written by his co-star Megan Everett-Skarsgard and written by Skarsgard. Starring Sgaard and one of his actor sons, Gustav. ( Vikings , Oppenheimer ). Huang and Skarsgard will attend the Locarno screening.

The 72 year old has successfully balanced a career in European art house star. He has collaborated on five films with Lars von Trier, including Breaking the Waves (1996) , Dancer in the dark (2000 ), Dogville (2000) and Depression ( ) — and five films by Norwegian director Hans Petter Moland, such as The Order of Disappearance ( ) and Stealing Horses (2019) . Skarsgard has also had supporting roles in Hollywood blockbusters such as Pirates of the Caribbean , Mamma Mia! , Thor and Avengers movies. He played Baron Vladimir Harkonnen in Denis Villeneuve’s Dune

and will appear in the upcoming Dune reprises the role. ) Dunes: Part II . On the small screen, Skarsgard won a Golden Globe for Best Supporting Actor in a Miniseries for his performance in the HBO drama Chernobyl. And most recently starred in Tony Gilroy’s Star Wars spinoff Andor on Disney+ ).

“Stern Skarsgard belongs to the tradition of European actors who have distinguished themselves between auteur films and Hollywood,” says Locarno Artistic Director Giona Said Giona A. Nazzaro. “He has a very strong stage charisma and can make every role he plays unforgettable. He can reshape his role according to the needs of the director and the script, injecting his own personality into completely different movies.”

The Leopard Club Award in Locarno is given annually to “individuals whose work in the film industry leaves its mark on the collective imagination”. Previous recipients include Faye Dunaway, Mia Farrow, Adrien Brody, Meg Ryan, Hilary Swank and Daisy Edgar Jones.

The 72 Locarno Film Festival will be held from August 2nd to .




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Featured NEWS